Disciples and Sheep

Many years ago I read the book, A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23, by Phillip Keller.

The book is an eye-opening look at the characteristics of sheep and their relationship to their shepherd, revealing why God chose this as the example of the disciple and our relationship to Jesus. This is written by a man who learned from a life as a shepherd and sheep rancher. I highly recommend it.

The following is a brief excerpt from his book:

Do I really belong to Him?

Do I really recognize His right to me?

Do I respond to His authority and acknowledge His ownership?

Do I find freedom and complete fulfillment in this arrangement?

Do I sense a purpose and deep contentment because I am under His direction?

Do I know rest and repose, besides a definite sense of exciting adventure, in belonging to Him?

If so, then with genuine gratitude and exaltation I can exclaim proudly, just as David did, “The Lord is my Shepherd!” and I’m thrilled to belong to Him, for it is thus that I shall flourish and thrive no matter what life may bring me.

Author: Sojourner

I am a slave of my Master, Jesus Christ, the living Son of God. Learner. Teacher. Writer. Sojourner.

2 thoughts on “Disciples and Sheep”

  1. Sojourner, all too often we like to frisk away from Him! Too often we forget how utterly wonderful the relationship is, and how desperately needy we are. The wolves are out there waiting.

    Thank you for returning me again to the ultimate One.

Leave a Reply

